search slide
search slide
pages bottom

Finalists for NZ's Excellence in IT Awards named

Finalists for the 2016 New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards have been announced, with a huge range of individuals standing out this year.

The awards are a sector-wide event that recognise the individuals and team show have excelled in the tech industry. Unlike other events that focus on companies and vendors, the New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards exclusively celebrates people.

“This year’s finalists are a smorgasbord of professionals who have not only been hugely successful professionally, but have also given back to the sector through volunteer and other roles,” comments IITP chief executive Paul Matthews.

The awards are a collaboration of ten of New Zealand’s tech associations, to create a truly sector-wide awards programme.

Partners include the Institute of IT Professionals, TUANZ, Health Informatics NZ, itSMF NZ, NZ Software Association, GOVIS, Project Management Institute, InternetNZ, NZRise and the NZ Open Source Society.

“What makes the Excellence in IT Awards different is that it recognises the real people behind software and information technology - the people that make IT work,” Matthews explains.

“The unsung heroes and champions of our sector deserve all the recognition they can get,” he adds.

The highlight award, IT Professional of the Year, includes Michael Trengrove, the head of a nationwide programme helping kids learn to code, Victoria Maclennan, a very successful entrepreneur and cochair of sector group NZRise, and Murray Wills, a very experienced consultant who has dedicated a huge amount of time to initiatives to help build the sector.

The other categories feature leaders and doers from across the tech industry.

“The 16 sector leading judges have their work cut out for them,” says Matthews.

The Finalists in the New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards are:

In partnership with Project Management Institute of NZ

In partnership with the NZ Software Association

Young IT Professional of the Year

New Zealand IT Professional of the Year

In partnership with the Institute of IT Professionals NZ

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 12th July 2016, during the ITx 2016 tech megaconference in Wellington.

More information about the finalists and the awards is available here.

Leave a Reply

Captcha image